Vegan Black-Eyed Pea Burger

Ah So Yummy (10)

Vegan Black-Eyed Pea Burger

Everyone makes BBQ hot dogs and hamburgers on 4th of July and here I made this vegan black-eyed pea burger! I could have bought vegan hot dogs or hamburgers with gluten-free buns, but decided against it. Even though my vegan black-eyed pea burger may not have been a traditional 4th of July meal, I sure enjoyed eating it, yum!

Having posted very few recipes, it wasn’t hard to find the Mediterranean black-eyed pea salad recipe I created last year. Wow! Where did the time go.  Looking over the recipe, I remembered  how good the combination of dill, black-eyed peas and rice tasted in that salad, so I added the same ingredients to my sister’s basic recipe for burgers which consisted of brown rice, oatmeal and beans to create this vegan black-eyed bean burger.

Since I started Ah So Yummy blog, besides it being a fun hubby, I can refer to my old recipe creations to remember what I used in them. I’ve created so many recipes in the past without having the faintest idea of how to recreate them again. Take the one above for instance. I have these photos because I texted them to my sister. We always text each other photos of the food we create. Back to the photos, I can see the ingredients I added to the patties, but I have no clue what seasonings I used. It looks like I cooked the eggplants with fried onions and spices and then added them to quinoa, green peas, lentils and fresh herbs.

I remember the patties in the photos above turned our real yummy, but for the life of me I can’t remember what I did. This was back when I was vegetarian and used eggs.

I always create my recipes based on what I have on hand. In this case, I had a bag of frozen black-eyed peas, hence vegan black-eyed pea burgers were born. Using my sister’s base recipe, I added cooked black-eyed peas and spices to cooked oatmeal and brown rice. Additionally, I added fresh broccoli and dill to make the burgers real moist.

Because of the fresh broccoli and herbs, these burgers turned out real soft and it wasn’t as easy to turn them over without breaking them. However, I carefully and gently managed to flip them over after 20 minutes. Flipping isn’t necessary and you can let them cool completely to set before moving them so they keep their shape. But, if you are in a hurry to eat them and can’t wait for them to cool, just add a little rice flour or ground flax seed to the mixture. I was real happy with how my vegan black-eyed pea burger turned out and wouldn’t change a thing next time around.

Next I made a creamy and tangy sauce to go with the burgers. I added a little water to vegan mayo to thin it a little. Then I squeezed some lime juice over it and added chopped dill, minced garlic and salt. The sauce turned out so delicious!

Ah So Yummy (8)

My vegan black-eyed pea burger turned out so tender and moist just like the texture of a good meatloaf. The flavor combination of the ingredients I used in these burgers was just magnificent!

Ah So Yummy (9)

The creamy herby garlicky citrusy sauce was the perfect choice for these burgers.The vegan black-eyed pea burger with a Mediterranean flair was so delicious that I devoured two as soon as they came out of the oven. This is definitely a keeper recipe :).

Vegan Black-Eyed Pea Burger

Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 50 min
Ready in: 1 hour
Yields: 12 burgers

Ingredients

1 package  20 oz. frozen black-eyed peas 2 cups black beans
1½ cups cooked brown rice
½ cup old fashioned oatmeal
2 cups fresh broccoli florets
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons chopped dry onion
2 teaspoons garlic powder
½ teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 bunch fresh dill, about 2 loosely packed cups

Preparation

  1. Cover beans with few inches of water and pressure cook until tender. Mash half of the beans.
  2. Mircowave oatmeal with 1 cup water for 2 minutes.
  3. Finely chop broccoli or use a food processor.
  4. Coarsely chop dill or process in a food processor.
  5. Mix all the ingredients together.
  6. Coat a non-stick oven pan with extra virgin olive oil. Form the mixture into patties and place them on the pan.
  7.  Bake in a preheated 350 degrees oven for 40 minutes. Do not flip over. Let stand in room temperature to firm up before moving them.
  8. Serve with dill and lemon sauce or a side of salad.
3 responses to “Vegan Black-Eyed Pea Burger

  1. I love the plating. Very elegant!

    Like

  2. Awwww thank you so much 🙂

    Like

  3. This is such a healthier alternative when craving for a burger. Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

