Chickpea Shawarma

Ah So Yummy (10)

Chickpea shawarma is basically chickpeas roasted in Middle Eastern spices.  Shawarma seasoning consists of ground cumin, coriander, garlic, cinnamon, turmeric, salt, black pepper, and cayenne. This Middle Eastern seasoning blend can be used on chicken, beef and lamb before grilling or roasting. It can also be used on any vegetable of your choice.

My sister emailed me this shawarma recipe weeks ago. She is always the one trying the new recipes first and sharing them with me. She bragged about it so much that I decided to make it myself. Chickpeas are one of my favorite legumes and I love them in anything from soups to salads. Chickpeas are also called garbanzo beans and have been around for over 7,500 years! They are one of the most popular crops across nearly every continent and are packed with protein, fiber and vitamins. I use chickpea powder in my veggie patties a lot as a binding agent.

I was very excited about trying this recipe. What better snack than spiced chickpeas, yum! As always, I got all my ingredients on the counter and measured the spices and added them to a bowl. I always place the ingredients to my left after using them, so I don’t lose track of which one I had already added. It’s better to be safe than adding an ingredient twice and ruining your recipe.

After preheating my oven to 400 degrees, I added the chickpeas to a large bowl and tossed them with extra virgin olive oil to coat them. I sprinkled the spice mix over the chickpeas and tossed them again to distribute the spice mix evenly.

The spiced chickpeas were then spread over a baking sheet lined with foil to reduce cleanup and baked in the oven for 30 minutes.

These chickpeas could be served on a bed of greens or stuffed in a pita bread with veggies and tahini dressing. I looked online for the best tahini dressing and came across this recipe that sounded great. I had all the ingredients so I started making the dressing.

Although I love tahini dressing and have tried a few recipes in the past, this dressing was too watery and not as tasty. I thought maybe I didn’t measure the ingredients correctly, but after checking the recipe I realized I had followed it to the T.

Regardless, I added some greens to a plate, topped with chickpea shawarmas, and drizzled with the tahini dressing. It looked very pretty and appetizing, but honestly I did not care for either recipe. The chickpeas had a tough-to-chew exteriors and the tahini dressing was sort of bland. After spending over an hour in the kitchen and dirtying tons of dishes, I was very disappointed at the end results. As much as I love my chickpeas, I would not be making this recipe again and I am sure there are far better tahini dressing recipes than the one I tried. Oh well, not all recipes are worth saving!

If you have a tahini dressing recipe worth keeping, please share it with me :).

Chickpea Shawarma

Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 30 min
Ready in: 40 mins
Yields: 4 servings

Ingredients

1 can (15 oz.) chickpeas, rinsed and drained
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon shawarma spice mix (recipe follows)

Shawarma Spice Mix:
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon coriander
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
Pinch of cayenne pepper to taste

Preparation

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. To make the spice mix, combine all the spices in a small bowl.
  3. Add the chickpeas to a large bowl, toss with the olive oil and spice mix.
  4. Spread out the spiced chickpeas on a nonstick baking sheet and roast for 30 minutes. 
Leave a Reply

