Thanksgiving Vegan Patties

IMG_0147

My sister is a strict vegan, so when she comes over, I always make vegan dishes. We usually get together on weekends and do our fun outing and play few rounds of crazy rummy and feast on whatever I cook that weekend. My sister is my guinea pig and eats anything I cook, trust me on that. That’s why I always ask other people for feedback on my cooking because my sister always says it’s delicious!

Since I got some practice with quinoa and millet patties this week and wanted to use the yams and apples that were desperately waiting to be turned into something delicious, a vision of Thanksgiving vegan patties emerged in my mind, yes Thanksgiving in June!

I got all my ingredients on the counter. I was out of onions so I used shallots instead. I sautéed the shallots and apples, then added my herbs and spices. This was a recipe being born as I was making it. I had no idea how it would turn out, but it sure smelled yummy.

Ah So Yummy

Besides cooking, I love gardening and growing my own herbs. I tried keeping potted herbs on the kitchen counter like you see in the magazines or on cooking shows, but they never survived. So, I created an organic herb garden in my backyard growing different herbs in the pots. Having your own herb garden is so convenient and worth the effort. Some of the herbs like mint, parsley, chives, rosemary, thyme, oregano and marjoram are perennial and others like cilantro, basil and dill are annual and have to be replanted every year.

From my earlier experience, I knew in order for the quinoa and millet to hold together, I needed a binding agent and eggs were out of question of course. This time around I was prepared and had boiled and smashed two yams. Sweet potatoes or regular potatoes work too. What you need is a starchy and sticky ingredient to help the mixture bind together.

Ah So Yummy

I said my prayers and started kneading the ingredients. They went together beautifully and I had room to add another apple, so I grated another apple into the mixture. I shaped the patties and placed them on an oiled oven-proof tray.

Ah So Yummy

My perfectly shaped patties were ready to go in the oven.

Ah So Yummy

I didn’t dare flip these patties over because they felt real soft to the touch. When the top of the patties develop lots of cracks during baking, it’s usually a sign that they would fall apart if flipped over. But, if you let them cool completely, they firm up and hold their shape. The aroma of the spices and apples filled the air just like Thanksgiving. The vegan patties turned out delicious. I am sure my sister is going to devour them tomorrow and that’s the best compliment a cook can get!

Thanksgiving Vegan Patties

Prep time: 15 min
Cook time: 40 min
Ready in: 55 min
Yields: 9 patties

Ingredients

1/2 cup quinoa
1/3 cup millet
1 small onion chopped
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 medium Fuji apples
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary chopped
1 tablespoon fresh thyme chopped
1 tablespoon fresh marjoram chopped
1 tablespoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 medium yams about 3 1/2 cups chopped

Preparation

  1. Cook the quinoa and millet in 1 1/2 cups water for about 15 minutes.
  2. Boil the yams in water. Drain, peel and smash.
  3. Sautee onions and apples for 2 to 3 minutes until fragrant. Stir in spices and seasonings.
  4. Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl.
  5. Shape into patties. Place on an oiled non-stick oven tray.
  6. Bake in pre-heated 350 degrees oven for 40 minutes. Do not flip over. Patties firm up when at room temperature.

Ah So YummyAh So Yummy Ah So Yummy

4 responses to “Thanksgiving Vegan Patties

  1. These look really good! Unfortunately we don’t have Thanksgiving in Germany but I’m gonna try them anyway (; thanks for the recipe!

    Like

  2. That looks too good! I need to try that some day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

