Indian Cauliflower Quiona and Millet Soup

 Ah So Yummy (2)

I love experimenting with new ingredients ever since I became a vegetarian. I try to pack as much protein and vitamins as I can in every meal. Today, I finally decided to give the millet I had bought weeks ago a try. I didn’t know that millet is the same seed I feed my birds every day, but it’s not just for the birds. Millet is actually an ancient seed and a major source of food in arid and semi-arid regions of the world. It has a similar protein structure as wheat minus the gluten and it’s a great source of B vitamins and minerals like magnesium, potassium, zinc, copper and manganese.

I usually scan my fridge and pantry for ingredients I can use to create a new dish. As soon as I saw the beautiful head of cauliflower in the fridge, my mind was made up to make an Indian spiced cauliflower soup with quinoa and millet. I was very happy with the end results.  Besides being very nutritious, the soup turned out real tasty. This soup is a meal in itself and freezes well. There is no greater joy than finding food in the freezer on the days you don’t have time to cook.

Indian Cauliflower Quinoa and Millet Soup

Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 40 min
Ready in: 50 min
Yields: 6 to 8 servings

Ingredients

1 medium onion chopped
2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup quinoa
1/3 cup millet
1 medium cauliflower
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
1 tablespoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground masala
pinch of cayenne
4 cups water
3 cups organic coconut milk

Preparation

  1. Heat oil in a medium stockpot. Add onions and garlic, sautee for few mintes until fragrant. Add spices, cauliflower, quiona and millet. Pour in 4 cups of water, cover and cook over medium-low heat for 40 minutes or until the cauliflower is tender.
  2. Add coconut milk and a dash of masala. Using an immersion hand blender puree the soup to a creamy consistency. Serve with chopped fresh cilantro.
Leave a Reply

